2 WMSU Studes are TOSP 2015 Awardees
August 1, 2015

Two of the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) awardees recognized by the RFM foundation for 2015 are students of the Western Mindanao State University. They were awarded last July 30, 2015 at the Heroes Hall Malacańang Palace, Manila.

“Learning, Leading and Serving for life”, is RFM Food Corporation’s tagline which embodies the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) search for excellent students who are potential leaders of the country. Out of the 30 who were initially short listed ten were chosen to have met the stringent criteria for the TOSP. Ms. Fharnieza Mohammad, a BS Biology major of the College of Science and Mathematics and Mr. Khenn Arquiza, an AB Political Science student of the College of Liberal Arts of WMSU have exceptionally proven their deep sense of commitment to superior academic performance, servant leadership and social responsibility. All these qualities are anchored on good moral values they have exemplified throughout their academic and socio-civic involvements as students.

Dr. Milabel Enriquez Ho, WMSU president received the honor accorded to the Western Mindanao State University for having fully supported and nurtured the students ‘development as well as undertakings. The school officials and faculty are also given recognition for deeply inculcating positive values in their students.

The TOSP is founded by businessman Jose Conception Jr. while he was still publishing Student Life Magazine. In his desire to honor students who are exemplars and leaders in their own academic fields and in their contributions to society, TOSP was established on June 19, 1961 during the 100th birthday of Dr. Jose Rizal. The search is held annually.

The other eight awardees that have been recognized as TOSP awardees for 2015 and their respective schools are: Ma. Nerissa Nicolas of Dr. Yangas Colleges Inc., Adriel Gamier Sanchez of the University of San Jose Recoletos, Gregg Louise tolentino of De La Salle – Manila, Ryan Carl Yu of Ateneo de Manila, Apolinario Bagano Jr. of Benguet State University, Marie Stephanie Gana of Far Easter University, Lynrose Jane Genon of Mindanao State University-Iligan City, and Raphael Aaron Letaba of the University of the Philippines. (PAO-WMSU)