February 10, 2016

February nine marks the commemoration of “Dia di Roseller T. Lim”, Zamboanga’s Great Filibuster and “El Gallo Sulangkang”. Being the first and only Zamboangueῆo who became Philippine senator to date, Zamboanga City annually pays tribute of his legacy in bringing greatness and service in our country.

The City Government of Zamboanga together with Junior Chamber International held the search for the Five Outstanding Zamboangueῆo Young Leaders (FOZYL) Award 2016. FOZYL is a search for young Zamboangueῆos who had been and continuously exemplify Sen. Roseller T. Lim’s passion to serve the community, his ideals and legacy.

Dia de Senator Roseller T. Lim, in its 10th year awarded Five Outstanding Young Leaders who greatly exhibit the traits of leadership, excellence, civic responsibility and community service as epitomized by the late senator.

This year three outstanding WMSU young leaders along with two others were recognized and awarded as part of the FOZYL awardees. Arthur Joshua S. Rodriguez from the College of Liberal Arts, Arnold Ferolino from the College of Teacher Education and Raemond Angelo Karagdag from the Graduate School. All received a plaque of recognition and a cash prize.

In last year’s FOZYL, four of the awardees were also from this University.