Requiza Awards 2012 Kudize Media Outfits Practitioners Anew
June 8, 2012
The Masscomm students in their best during the awards night

The Masscomm students in their best during the awards night

Various local media outfits and practitioners were once again commended in the Requiza Student Choice Awards 2012 last May 19 at the Celeberity Hall, Astoria Hotel, this city.

Requiza Awards, in its 3rd year, is an award giving body pioneered by Mass Communications department of the Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) and surveyed by WMSU Masscomm students aimed at hailing various media outfits, be it in radio, television and print.

Exceptional works of Masscomm students like documentaries, short films and music television (MTV) productions were also commended in the said awards night. Photojournalist, Journalist, Broadcaster and Copyrighter of the Year awards were also revealed.

In an interview, Mr. Edralin Villanueva, the prime mover of the said awards, disclosed that Requiza, which means to scrutinize, started last 2009 exclusively handing awards for media outfits those from television and radio categories in the city. This year, the awards included from those of the print category with awards such as Most popular local newspaper and Most popular columnist.

The winners in Radio categrory include: Most popular radio news program-Buenas Dias Zamboanga-AM), Most Popular Radio News anchor- Teodyver Arquiza, Most Popular DJ- Rico Navarro, Most Popular AM station-Radio Mindanao Network, Most Popular FM station- Ifm.

Meanwhile, for the Television category: Most Popular TV News program- TV Patrol Zamboanga, Most Popular TV News anchor- Jewel Reyes, Most Popular TV Talkshow program-No Limits, Most Popular TV Talkshow host – Hon. Erico Basilio Fabian, Most Popular Telemagazine program – Mag TV, Most Popular Telemagazine host- Hon Ma. Isabelle Climaco-Salazar, Most Popular TV Station/Network – ABS-CBN Zamboanga.

For the print category, the winners were: Most Popular Columnist- Betty Elago and Most Popular Local Newspaper-Zamboanga Times.

Prof. Jose Marie A. Bue, a Masscom faculty, was named as Journalist of the Year whilst ABS-CBN’s Jewel Reyes was the Broadcaster of the Year.

Present during the awards night were the Dean of the College of Communications and Humanities, Dr. Ma. Socorro Yvonne Ramos, Prof. Rommel Racho and Prof. Myrna Joy B. Mendoza, faculty member of WMSU-Masscomm department. (Contributed by Elson C. Ledesma-AB Masscomm Journ III)