ART Competition 2015 depicts WMSU at 111
August 20, 2015

16 students coming from the different colleges of Western Mindanao State University won major and special awards in consonance with an art competition held during the 111th anniversary of the WMSU last July 21, 2015.

The theme entitled My WMSU; preserving a century of excellence through art served as an inspiration to the contestants in depicting the University particularly the contribution of their respective colleges in promoting excellence in their respective fields of discipline.

An art piece by a second year student from Architecture, Mr. Clarence M. Dabasol with the winning piece entitled “WMSU’s Excellence shining through 111 years” garnered the first place. His art work is an elaborate depiction of the evolving leadership through the years where the artist is able to give a detailed illustration of WMSU’s rise with the use of mixed media like oil pastel, water color, pen and ink and a cut-out of the WMSU seal.

Miss Jeanamae A. Francisco, a second year student of the Bachelor of Science in Accountancy won the second place with her piece entitled “Enlightening through Excellence” using Acrylic paint and charcoal painting. Her piece symbolized the fields of Accountancy and Economics as essential components of the society’s progress. Specifically highlighted in the art work is how WMSU, through its leaders, have contributed to the economic stability of the Region.

An art piece entitled “Enculturation” by Mr. Jerry James C. Deran of the College of Teacher Education won the third place. His art work portrays how acquisition of excellence through education helps people in preserving its culture from generation to generation. This is how WMSU is depicted as an academic institution in Western Mindanao. He used Acrylic as medium on canvas.

The rest of the winners who got the consolation prize are the following: (1) Emmeldon O. Pagador (BSCE-V) (2) Ariel L. Carino (BSCE-IV) (3) Christell Joy P. Tarro (BS Acc-III) (4) Rafik A. Ismael (Gen. Eng’g 1G) (5) Jalali M.Ysmael (BS- Arch-IV) (6) Mohammad Nur S. Abdurahman (BS Arch-V) (7) Omar Alpasain (BSCE) (8) Lucky Vincent I. Morales (BSN-II) (9) Eric Anton D. Toledo (Gen.Eng’g) (10) Rachele G. Tura (BS Chem-III) (11) Gladys A. Saavedra (BEED-III) (12) Mark Vincent A. Balboa (BEED-IV) (13) Romeo J. Ramirez (BS Arch-II)

The undertaking is an initiative of the Public Affairs Office under auspices of the Office of the President.