Five WMSU Students Awarded Metrobank Scholarships
July 25, 2006

FIVE college students of Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) have been awarded scholarships for school year 2006-2007 by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc.

In letter to WMSU, Metrobank Deputy Executive Director Nicanor Torres named the Excellence in Teaching Program (ETP) scholars as Rose Ann Baltazar (BSEEd 3), Cristina Alegado (BSEd- Mathematics 3), and Daryl Jane Barrios (BSEd-English 3. The two other scholars, under the foundation’s Assistance for the Completion of College Education for Superior Students (ACCESS), are Roscel Araneta (BS Biology 1) and Jeany Rose Lapinid (BS in Mathematics).

The ETP scholarship entitles the awardee to a fixed semestral subsidy of P7,500 from the foundation, beginning in the first semester of the current of the current school year. ACCESS scholars will receive P5,000 in cash allowance and full coverage of the tuition and other fees, also starting in the current school year.

All of the awardees went through a rigid screening process, Torres noted. They must comply with the terms and conditions of their scholarship contract, he said.

The foundation has been awarding scholarsihps to WMSU students for serveral years now. (Rey-Luis Banagudos, PAO/WMSU)