WMSU Graduation Exercises on March 29 and 31
March 19, 2006

MAYOR Celso Lobregat and Regional Trial Court Judge Erik Elumba will be the respective speakers in the two tertiary-level commencement exercises of the Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) on Wednesday, March 29 and Friday, March 31.

A total of 1,692 students plus several post-graduate ones will receive their diplomas from WMSU academic officials headed by university president Dr. Eldigario Gonzales.

The first batch of students will be from the College of Nursing, Liberal Arts, Asian and Islamic Studies, Social Work and Development, Architecture and Public Administration and Development Studies. The second batch on Friday will come from the College of Education, Criminology, Engineering, Science and Mathematics, Agriculture, and Physical Education, Culture and Arts.

Public Affairs Office Director Prof. Ali Yacub said the ceremonies will start at 7:00 A.M. with in the processionals of the graduates and university brass. The rites will be held in the WMSU gym.

This’ years graduation theme “Graduate 2006: Sustaining Century-Old Tradition of Excellence”, serves to spotlight the institution’s celebration this year of its ceremonial.

Prof. Yacub said WMSU started as the Zamboanga Provincial Normal School and 1904 and has since evolved as the Zamboanga City Normal School (c.1920), Regional Normal School (1952), Zamboanga Normal College (1962), Zamboanga State College (1972), and Western Mindanao State University (1978). The two-year delay in the college was caused by the long research conducted by the university historic facts related ti its founding.

Meanwhile. The 24 academic awardees among the graduate were honored during a recognition program held Monday afternoon. The three “magna cum laude” were Ma. Elyza Gracilda Ramos (ABMasscom), Ma. Jocelyn Escalicas (Agriculture), and John Michael Dellariarte (ABPolsci).

The “cum laude” awardees were Joseph Mark Lagod (BSN), Liezal Rebollos (BSN), Germiah Karim (BSSW), Catherine Bontilao (ESU-BSSW), Krystel Pandaog (BSN), Connie Que (BAT), Joan Espetacion (ESU-BEED), Ricardo Marata (BSCrim), Ericson Alieto (BSED), aide Rose Alatan (BAT), Vinchail Siason (BS Physics), Roseller Caliyo (BSN), James dela Valloso (BS Chemistry)Vanessa Jane Buenaventure (LLB) Jane Albios (BEED Science and Health), Davis Enriquez (BSN), Jennifer Gumansing (BSN), Grace Anciano (ESU-BEED), Cesar Lacastesantos (BSME), Aira Fides Gonzales (BSN), and Maria Fe Gaugano (LLB). (Rey-Luis Banagudos/PAO-WMSU)