WMSU marks 10th year as a “Royal University”
July 24, 2015

His Royal Highness Sultan Ibrahim Bahjin Shakirullah III, M. D. Al- Haj. with Voltaire Gonzales and other guests in the ceremony

one of the honorees, Prof. Ali T. Yacub, Al-haj with other guests in the ceremony

wmsu president, dr. milabel enriquez-ho together with the vice president for academic affairs hands in the plaque of appreciation to His Royal Highness Sultan Ibrahim Bahjin Shakirullah III, M. D. Al- Haj.

Western Mindanao State University honored four former WMSU officials during its culminating program of its 111th Founding Anniversary & Commemorating Ceremony of its 10th Anniversary as a Royal University last July 21, 2015 held at the said University.

The honorees were: WMSU former President, Dr. Eldigario D. Gonzales, represented by his son, Mr. Voltaire Gonzales, former Vice President for Research and Extension Development, Prof. Clemencio M. Bascar, Public Affairs Office former director, Prof. Ali T. Yacub, Al-Hadz, and Prof. Emmanual Mangubat who was represented by his daughter, Ms. Joyce Mangubat.

These honorees have been one of the major players in the Royal Proclamation and had also shared their unselfish and meritorious contribution to the cause.

Also present in the event was the Sultan Muazzalam, His Royal Highness Sultan Ibrahim Bahjin Shakirullah III, M. D. Al- Haj.

Through the University’s Board Resolution No. 111 series of 2005 and the adopted resolution of the Rumah Bichara (Legislative Body) of the Sultanate of Sulu and North Borneo thus WMSU was given the Honorific Title as a “Royal University”.

During the afternoon of the same day, a conference and conferment ceremony dubbed as “Towards Quality Education and Excellent Educators of the World” was held at the College of Teacher Education Normal Hall.

The Royal Institute, represented by the President of the Royal Institution Philippines Dr. Helen S. Molano together with the President of the University Dr. Milabel Enriquez-Ho facilitated the awarding of the certificate of appreciation to the guest speaker Dr. Samuel M. Salvador followed by the awarding of certificates and pinning of the fellows facilitated by the Chairman Emeritus of the Royal Institution, Dr. Ang Thian Soo.

The Awarding of the Honorees and the Conferment Ceremony was led by the University’s President Dr. Milabel Enriquez- Ho, and its three Vice Presidents; Vice President for Planning, Administration and Finance, Dr. Ederlinda M. Fernandez, Vice President for Research Extension Service and External Linkages, Dr. Roberto B. Torres, and the Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Ma. Carla A. Ochotorena. (Ella Dee Cruz-PAO, WMSU)