Youth Peace Mediator Club receives 6th recognition from UNESCO
January 29, 2020

(L-R) Saidi Insang and Duke Magno, officers of the Youth Peace Mediator Club, show off the certificate of recognition they received from UNESCO

(Center) Saidi Insang and Duke Magno, receives the recognition for the WMSU Youth Peace Mediator Club as the 2019 Outstanding UNESCO Club (Cultural Category) for the 6th time

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) recognized the WMSU Youth Peace Mediator Club as the 2019 Outstanding UNESCO Club-Cultural Category for the sixth (6th) time during the 2019 International Assembly of Youth for UNESCO held December 7, 2019 at the University of Assumption, San Fernando City, Pampanga.

The Youth Peace Mediator Club, a UNESCO-accredited student organization under the tutelage of Dr. Marcelina G. Carpizo, Director, Peace and Human Security Institute (PHSI), was recognized for its significant contribution in the attainment of UNESCO goals and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). In addition, they were also conferred the Certificate of Good Standing for continuously initiating student-led activities in consonance with the ideals and principles of the said UN agency.

The student-led organization has underscored its strong commitment in front lining the essence of education, science and technology, and culture in their projects at the grassroots level. They actively spearhead activities relative to peace and security such as peace dialogues within and outside the University, freedom wall of peace, and the Youth for UNESCO International Day of Peace.

The Youth Peace Mediator Club is led by the following students: Frederico Duke Magno- President (BS Geodetic Engineering); Saidi Y. Insang- Vice President (BS Social Work); Nadzmir Juhuri Hussin- Secretary (BS Electrical Engineering); Lowela Nalzaro- Treasurer (BS Community Development); Wilbert G. Sajulga- Auditor (BS Social Work); Carl Onemig Bagood- Project Manager (BS Community Development); Shareeka Jean Villamer-PIO (AB Political Science); Cathleen Grace Gonzales- Ambassadress (BS Geodetic Engineering); and Anas L. Atal- Ambassador (BS Sanitary Engineering). (Liezel M. Parreño, WMSU-PAO)