WMSU Celebrates R&D Excellence!

The Western Mindanao State University (WMSU) marked its achievement in Research and Development (R&D) on September 21, 2023, with the hosting of the Agency In-House Review (AIHR) by the Research Development and Evaluation Center (RDEC). The AIHR is an annual rigorous review process that evaluates the quality and impact of WMSU’s R&D projects.

The WMSU AIHR is conducted each year by the RDEC of the Office of the Vice President for Research, Extension Services, and External Linkages (RESEL) to disseminate R&D projects that have been funded by either WMSU or external funders. It is an avenue to recognize the excellence of researchers and personnel in implementing R&D projects for the advancement of science and its relevance to the community and to inspire the next generation of researchers.

To qualify for the AIHR, a project or study 1) must have been funded by WMSU or other agency, 2) be completed or have adequate results for dissemination, 3) be implemented by a WMSU faculty or researcher, and 4) have relevant and significant scientific merit. The AIHR is a valuable opportunity for WMSU to recognize the excellence of its researchers.

This year’s winners of the AIHR are:

  1. Prof. Marilyn M. Dioso (College of Teacher Education) for her paper “Skills and Readiness of General Education Teachers for Inclusive Special Education” (Best Paper Research Category for Social Science)
  1. Marvin A. Maulion (College of Science and Mathematics) for his paper “White Noise Analysis of Particulate Matter in Zamboanga City” (Best Paper Research Category for AFNR/S&T)
  1. Arvic S. Francisco (College of Engineering) for the project “DOST-PCAARRD-WMSU Agri-Aqua Technology Business Incubator Project Phase 2: Advance Incubation” (Best Paper Development Category for AFNR/S&T); and
  1. Kay P. Ramos, Dr. Melbert C. Sepe, Dr. Genelyn G. Madjos, Dr. Myrtle Ayn Peñaredondo, Dr. Elderico P. Tabal (College of Science and Mathematics and College of Agriculture) for their poster “Genome Analysis of ZamPen Native Chicken (Gallus gallus Linn.) in the Philippines” (Best Poster).

The winners of the AIHR have received certificate of recognition and shall also be receiving some cash prizes. Moreover, the winners for the Best Paper for R&D Categories (AFNR/S&T) shall be endorsed to compete in the WESMAARRDEC’s Regional Symposium on Research and Development Highlights (RSRDH) in November 2023.

This year’s AIHR was attended by the researchers who conducted the completed research projects, including some WMSU Officials, faculty members, Research Coordinators, students, and representatives from funding agencies, academic institutions, and government agencies who served as panel of evaluators. The panel of evaluators for AFNR and Science and Technology included prominent individuals such as Dr. Synan S. Baguio, Director, DOST-PCAARRD, LRD; Dir. Ricardo A. Apolinario III, Asst. R.D, DOST – IX; Dr. Rufa Lara Mendez, Vice President for Research, Innovation, and Extension, ZSCMST; and Dr. Leonilo B. Abella, Director of WESMAARRDEC were. On the other hand, the panel of evaluators for Social Science and the Humanities were Dr. Jason V. Chavez, Research Director at ZPPSU; Dr. Robert V. Panaguiton, Faculty from the College of Liberal Arts, WMSU; and Dr. Pilar S. Caparas, Research Coordinator from the College of Liberal Arts, WMSU.

The AIHR is a significant event for WMSU as it recognizes the excellence of its researchers and their contributions to the field of R&D. The winners of the AIHR have demonstrated their dedication to their craft and commitment. WMSU congratulates the winners and the other presenters of the AIHR for their remarkable work and achievements.